October 2018 Wrap-Up

34963526This month started with something I’ve been longing for a very long time, which is Saga Volume 8. I absolutely loved this – it had everything I missed from that universe. New creatures? Check. Heartbreaking moments? Check. Wholesome moments? Check. Freelancers? Check.

35288488I also read soft thorns by Bridgett Devoue. This book, just like Saga, broke my heart and put it back together. Also, as it turns out, free verse is pretty cool.

18393324Later on I finished Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse by Chris Riddell. I’ve been meaning to read this book for a very long time and, honestly, it didn’t disappoint. This is one of those books that are short, sweet and fun.

And because I have no self control, I watched Elite‘s first season (in two or three days). My sister described this show perfectly: it’s Riverdale on steroids. It has great actors, beautiful scenes and, to top it all off, it’s trash I’m absolute trash for.

I also finally finished American Horror Story’s fifth season, also known as AHS: Hotel. Honestly, I can’t begin to tell you how many times I thought of dropping this season. I believe it somehow managed to be worse than Freak Show – in here, some main characters weren’t cast in the best way possible. The story was mildly fun and the villain continued to be the same, though. But the whole “ancient virus” thing felt forced. To quote a friend, this season is all about sex and blood, nothing more.

34895950Later on, I read the beautiful Tea Dragon Society by Katie O’Neill. This was a short and very cute book, it definitely warmed my soul a little. I can’t wait to read more of this author’s works!

36612684I finally got back on my serials by reading Stolen Treasures (False Idols Season One Episode Four) by Diana Renn. This is an okay episode (at best) but I can see that tension is rising and the stakes are changing quite rapidly. Honestly, this has to be the first episode of False Idols that made me actually look forward to reading the next.

And because I have no self restraint, I watched American Horror Story’s sixth season, also known as AHS: Roanoke. To be honest, I loved this. I don’t know if it’s because Hotel and Freak Show weren’t that good or if it’s actually good, I just know that I loved it. The format felt fresh and the story didn’t feel forced. Now, I can’t wait to watch more AHS!

31578772Later on, I read Umta (ReMade Season One Episode Five) by Matthew Cody. I’ve wanted to read an episode centered around Umta for too long so, when I saw this episode’s title, my heart jumped. Overall, this was pretty cool. We get some answers when it comes to Umta’s origins and some stuff happens to the group towards the end. And my guess was right – Umta’s looks were pretty important.

Leave a comment