September 2018 Wrap-Up

25243735This month started in a great way with Wytches Volume One by Scott Snyder. Honestly, this book was really fun and I bonded with the characters. More like this this month, please! This book really got me in a Halloween mood, I can’t wait for October.

Disenchantment (2018)Later on, I watched Netflix’s first season of Disenchantment. This was really fun! It has some continuity problems and most stuff that would affect the future didn’t. Even with that, it got some chuckles out of me.

27877138And I finally finished It! This beast of a book was written by Stephen King and holy cow, I didn’t know I could feel like this when finishing a book. I simply feel… whole. But also sad, I’ll never see my beloved characters (*cough* Richie *cough*) again. And I feel happy too, this was so fun to read, definitely a wild ride.

30635395After that, I read the disappointing Webs (Bookburners Season Two Episode Two) by Andrea Philips. Don’t get me wrong, this was a fun episode, but some characters didn’t feel like themselves. Hopefully, the season will become better over time, like the previous.

I also watched American Horror Story‘s fourth season, also known as AHS: Freak Show. After Asylum, I was let down by Coven so, when I finished it, I thought Freak Show would be more interesting. I was wrong. The characters were fun, as they usually are in this show, but the problem this time were the villains. Each of them was too bland and they switched around too many times. In episode 10, there’s a crossover with Asylum, which only made me want to drop this season and re-watch Asylum.

27424053And because I needed some more, I read The North Side of the Sun (Tremontaine Season One Episode Two) by Alaya Dawn Johnson. This episode was really fun and got me hyped to read the next one. I have a feeling everything’s still building up to the real story – all the betrayal and sabotage I’m hoping for. But even though this was almost just world building, I had lots of fun.

40962870Because my sister got this for me at the local library, I read Os Direitos das Crianças, a poetry anthology that was edited by João Ribeiro. Now, this book has lots of nice poems and got me to read poets that I didn’t even know. It explores important topics too, which is always nice. But I’m not sure if this should be a children’s book, there are some poems with words that kids won’t know and even some poems in Galego. I know Galego is similar to Portuguese, but not enough so a kid will understand.

28575437Later on, I read A Long, Cold Winter (The Witch Who Came In From The Cold Season One Episode One) by Max Gladstone and Lindsay Smith. I never thought I would have this much fun reading a spy story. Even though this episode is mostly world building, I know I’m already in love with it and can’t wait to read more.

38958846I also read the adorable Sheets by Brenna Thummler. This book was very cute and featured lots of important things such as loss and loneliness in a way that kids can understand itad. Honestly, it was a pretty nice read, I had lots of fun.

17905133Later on, I stopped reading In the Tears of God (Aquarius Rising #1) by Brian Burt. Honestly, I simply didn’t feel compelled to read. This isn’t a bad book, but it isn’t good either, and I don’t want to spend my time reading something that doesn’t make me feel anything.

Leave a comment